Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Search our Site:
  
  
Home
   Title
   Author
   Dedication
   Reading Aid
   Contents
   Acknowledgements
   Assignment

Foreword

The Kaurna
   Skillogolee Creek
   Before Settlement
   Tribal Organisation
   Population
   Nantowarra
   Sexual Relations
   European Views
   Footnotes

Kudnarto
   Warrawarra
   Birth Date
   Names
   Footnotes

Early Years
   Daily Life
   Child Rearing
   Food
   Food Gathering
   Shelter
   Gatherings
   Education
   Cooking
   Fire
   Tanning
   Games
   Schools
   Footnotes

Marriage
   Puberty
   Ceremony
   Sexual Relations
   Footnotes

Settlement
   John Hill
   Horrocks
   Rape
   Surveying
   Stanley County
   Skillogolee Creek
   Auburn
   Watervale
   Penwortham
   Emu Plains
   Clare
   Bundaleer
   Footnotes

Land Grants
   The Protector
   The Reality
   Early Days
   Land Selection
   Land Holdings
   Land Usage
   Racial Theories
   Footnotes

Shepherds
   Tensions
   Killing
   Double Standards
   More Killing
   Harem Life
   Prostitution
   Ferguson's Place
   Deserting Husbands
   Rape
   Sex and Sheep
   Footnotes

Adams
   Problems
   Adams' Birth
   Humberstone
   The Adams Family
   Ann Mason
   Edward Adams
   Conditions
   Labourer's Life
   Footnotes

Literacy
   Was he literate?
   Writing Skills
   Graphology
   Hale
   Evidence
   School
   Other People
   Adams' Letters
   Footnotes

Childhood
   A Carpenter?
   Birth Information
   Van Dieman's Land
   South Australia
   Port Adelaide
   Emigration Agents
   Sheep
   Labourer's Lot
   Crystal Brook
   Footnotes

Engagement
   Notice
   Reasons
   Feelings
   Minor
   Engagement
   Drinking Problems
   Footnotes

Wedding
   Registry Office
   Established View
   Kudnarto's Dress
   High Fashion
   Wedding Ceremony
   Footnotes

Land
   Land Please
   Lodgement
   I have a dream
   Opposition
   Processing
   Approval
   The Licence
   Notification
   Scams
   Footnotes

Farming
   The House
   Who Gains
   Farming Capital
   Reality sets in
   Tom
   Murray
   Inheritance
   Footnotes

Copper
   Port Henry
   Bullock Drays
   Watering Holes
   Gold
   Skilly Creek
   Footnotes

Murder

The Trial

Skilly Creek
   Money Problems
   Leasing
   Tim
   Eviction
   Problems
   Separation
   Sharefarming
   Footnotes

Death
   Single Life
   Kudnarto's Death
   Loss of Land
   Poonindie
   Footnotes

Land Claim
   Unresolved Issues
   Terra Nullius
   Land Conflict
   Subtext
   Licence
   Promises
   The Facts
   Footnotes

Epilogue
   Significance
   At One

Biographies
   People
   Hotels

Letters
   Adams' Letters
   Replies

Handwriting
   Dissection
   Tabulation
   Analysis

Police Court

Trial Report

The Civilising
   1840
   White Women
   Contact
   Missionary activity
   Footnotes
   Bibliography

1860 Report
   1860
   Report Origins
   Attitudes
   Infanticide
   Sterility
   Promiscuity
   Health
   Gender Imbalance
   Blame the victims
   British Law
   Land Loss
   Social Alienation
   Tokenism
   Conclusions
   Footnotes
   Bibliography

Tom & Tim
   Introduction
   Poonindie
   Footnotes

Bibliography
   Primary Sources
   Secondary Sources

Kudnarto

Appendix 1 ~ Biographical Notes

The following is a compilation of biographies of all people mentioned in the body of the book. Since hotels also form a major part of the story, the hotels that are mentioned in the story are also detailed listing the names of the owners.

People

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

       A

Adams, Thomas, born 10 May 1811 at Leicester, Leicestshire. Came to Van Dieman's Land in 1833 on the ship Anna. Worked as a shepherd near Kingston. Married Ellen Reardon (1811 - 27 November 1889) by the Reverend P. Palmer at the Trinity Church in the County of Buckingham on 7 November 1836. Came to South Australia on 1 August 1844 on the ship Hawke. Married Kudnarto (c.1831 - 10 February 1855) in Adelaide on 27 January 1848. The children from the marriage were Tom (1849 - ), and Tim (1853 - ). He lived at Crystal Brook and Port Lincoln. He died in the Destitute Assylum on 24 February 1882. Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume I, p. 7. Back to text

Adams, Thomas, born 19 June 1849, the first son of Thomas Adams and Kudnarto. After the death of Kudnarto in 1855 he went to Poonindie where he remained off and on for the next twenty years. Back to text11 October 1852

Adams, Tim, born 11 October 1852, the second son of Thomas Adams and Kudnarto. After the death of Kudnarto in 1855 he went to Poonindie where he remained off and on for the next twenty years. Back to text

Alford, Henry, born on 12 February 1816 in Acton Middlesex. He came to South Australia in 1836 on the ship JOHN PIRIE. His occupation was as policeman and publican. At this time his rank was Second Inspector of the Mounted Police with an annual salary of £200. While in the Police force and as a publican, he was also a volunteer in the Adelaide Mounted Rifle Corps. He lived on Kangaroo Island, Adelaide, Glynde and Norwood. He was a Presbyterian. On 8 December 1844, he married Elizabeth Anne Roberts (1815 - 26 June 1875) in Adelaide. The children from this marriage were Henry (1839 - ?), Elizabeth Ann (1846 - 1846), Edwin (1847 - 1900), Julia (1949 - 1852), Elizabeth Ann (1851 - 1854), and May Ann (1854 - 1859). Later, he married his second wife, Ellen (1824 - 30 September 1908). His hotel ownership is as follows:

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1854

1856

Stag Inn

299 Rundle Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 578, S-80

1857

1857

Glynde Hotel

492 Payneham Road

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 242, G-44

1858

1858

Red Lion Inn

13a Rundle Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 496, R-20

1860

1860

Golden Rule Inn

Pine Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 246, G-51

1861

1876

Glynde Hotel

492 Payneham Road

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 242, G-44

After Alford died on 20 February 1892, his son Edwin took over the running of the Glynde Hotel until he died in 1900, afterwhich it was run by Edwin's widow until 1912. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 15 and Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide. Back to text

Angus, George Fife, was born on 1 May 1789 at Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Northumberland. His occupation was Merchant, politician and pastrolist. His religion was Baptist. He married Rosetta French (1796 - 11 January 1867) in London. The children from the marriage were Rosettal French (1813 - 1898), Sarah Lindsay (1816 - 1898), Emma (1818 - 1885), George French (1822 - 1886), John Howard (1823 - 1904), Mary Ann (1826 - 1831), and William Henry (1832 - 1879). The family arrived in South Australia in 1851 on the ASCENDANT. There residence was Linsay Park, Angaston where he died on 15 May 1879 and was burried. Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume I, p. 31. Back to text

Angus, John Howard, was born on 5 October 1823 at Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Northumberland. He finally immigrated to South Australia in 1843 on the ship MADRAS. His occupation was politician and pastrolist. His religion was Baptist. On 18 September 1855, he married Susan Collins at Manchester, Lancashire. The children from the marriage were Charles Howard (1861 - 1928), and Lillian Gertrude. He died at Collinsgrove on 17 May 1904. Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume I, p. 32. Back to text

Armstrong, . A hut keeper and shepherd living on Yorke Peninsular who came to note when he was speared by Tyulta after raping his wife. He was never tried for the rape.Back to text

Ayres, Henry, the Secretary of the South Australian Mining Association which worked the Burra copper mine. Back to text

Go to top

       B

Bagshaw, Reverend John Charles MA (1818 - ). He came to South Australia in 1847 on the DUCHESS OF NOTHUMBERLAND. He became the local Anglican minister at Claire and Penwortham. He married on 18 February 1851 at Penwortham. Later he went to New Zealand. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 54. Back to text

Bentley, James (Jemmy), born 1786 at Middlesex. He married Elizabeth Chatterton (1788 - 25 May 1864). The children from the marriage were John, George, Edward, Rosetta (1824 - ?), James (1828 - 1881), Henry Robert (1835 - 1869) and Thomas (1836 - ?). The family came to South Australia in 1849 on the ship CHEAPSIDE. When in South Australia he worked as a carpenter at Burra and Moonta. He died on 27 May 1850. His son, Henry Robert who married Mary Jane Whitford, as licencees, gave their name to Bentley's Hotel at Clare. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 115. Back to text

Bleechmore, James Henry, born 1824. He worked as a post master, publican and farmer. He lived at Penwortham, Mintaro and Wakefield. On 7 September 1846, in Adelaide, he married Mary Ann Hood (1827 - 22 December 1851). After the death of his first wife, he married Isabel Hewlett (1834 - 4 July 1917) at Penwortham. The children from this marriage were James Clarence (1855 - ?), Henry Stanley (1857 - 1927), Irwin Alfred (1858 - ?), and Sydney Hewlett (1860 - 1911). He died at Farrell's Flat on 30 November 1873. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 131. The following are the hotels where he was licencee in South Australia

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1846

1847

Gilbert Arms

Gilbert River

Stockport

Pt 3, p. 230, G-19

1847

1848

Stanley Arms

Main North Road

Watervale

Pt 3, p. 579, S-83

1849

1851

Prince of Wales

Main North Road

Watervale

Pt 3, p. 476, P-75

1872

1873

Hanson Arms

Patterson Terrace

Farrell's Flat

Pt 3, p. 282, H-20

Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide. Back to text

Bleechmore, Joseph Edwin, born 1831. He came to South Australia in 1849 on the ship CALPHURNIA. He worked as a publican, auctioneer and carter. He lived wholly in Auburn and was the publican at the Rising Sun Hotel from 1851 to 1871. On 14 December 1852 he married Caroline Louisa Rogers (1836 - 25 January 1898) at Adelaide. The children from the marriage were Emily Augusta, Fanny Louisa, Edwin George (1853 - 1890), Frederick Auburn (1855 - 1911), Arthur James (1856 - 1916), a daughter (1858), a daughter (1860), Charles Augustus (1862 - 1862), son (1863), Robert Alfred (1866 - ?), and Horace Edgar (1868 - 1869). He died in Auburn on 10 August 1887.Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 131 and Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3. p. 506 R - 37. Back to text

Bonney, Charles, born on 31 October 1813 at Sandon, Staffordshire. He first came to Sydney in New South Wales and then took a flock of sheep overland to Adelaide in 1838. In South Australia, his occupations were pastrolist, public servant, Member of Parliament and Governor. On 13 December 1846, he married Charlotte Heritage at Adelaide. The children from this marriage were Charles George (1847 - ?), Charlotte Agnes (1849 - 1915), Arthur Edwin (1851 - ?), John Augustus (1853 - ?), Ernest Augustine (1854 - ?), Laura May (1856 - 1858), daughter (1858 - ?), daughter (1859 - ?), and son (1861 - ?). He died on 15 March 1897. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 142. Back to text

Buck, Robert, born in 1795. He worked as a ships cook, master marriner and lighterman. He came to South Australia in 1836 on the ship RAPID. He lived at Port Adelaide and Alberton. He married Maria (1785 - 22 September 1857) who came to South Australia in 1839 on the ship CLEVELAND. The children from the marriage were Robert (1815 - 1895), William (1823 - 1906), Maria Phillippa (1824 - 1918), Susannah (1831 - ?), William Henry (1833 - ?), and Phoebe Emily (1840 - ?). Phoebe was his favourite child and subsequently he named his lighter after her. He died on 7 October 1872. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 196.  Back to text

Go to top

       C

Cackden, Lease owner at Skillogolee Creek. He refused to allow Adams to visit Section 346 until Adams had a written confirmation of his ability to occupy the land.  Back to text

Cawthorne, William, a traveller.  Back to text

Chambers, James (Jemmy), born 26 September 1812 at Enfield, London. On 6 August 1836 he married in Catherine Redin (17 May 1809 - 20 June 1875) at Sutton, London. He came to South Australia in 1837 on the ship COROMANDEL. He lived in North Adelaide and then Adelaide while with his brother John (1815 - 1889) he had a sheepfarm and ran a few hundred horses north of Clare between Hill and Hutt Rivers. He also ran a carrying business. His religion was Church of England. The children from the marriage were Elizabeth (1837 - ?), James (1839 - 1893), John (1840 - 1841), Catherine (1843 - 1904), Anna (1845 - ?), and Hugh (1848 - 1893). Sometime he left South Australia because he is found to have retuned in 1856 on the ship ALBUERA. He died in North Adelaide on 7 August 1862. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 255. Back to text

Crawford, George John, born on about 1812 in Logan, Ireland. He married Alicia Arthur Goslin in 1844. He came to South Australia in 1850 on the ship MIDLOTHIAN. His employment in Australia was as a Judge at £800 per annum. There were three children from the marriage prior to coming to Adelaide while Reginald Lindsay (1851 - ?) was born in Adelaide. He died on 24 September 1852. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol. I, p. 339. Back to text

Go to top

       D

Denison, Sir William, born on 13 May 1804 in London. Attended Royal Military College in 1826 and was commissioned as a second lieutenant. He went to Canada and worked upon the Rideau Canal project. he returned to England in 1832. In november 1838 he married Caroline Hornby. They had thirteen children from the marriage. Appointed Lieutenant Governor of Van dieman's Land in April 1846 and knighted some months after. remained in Van Dieman's Land from 1846 - 1855, Governor of New South Wales 1855 - 1861 and of Madras 1861 - 1866. Australian Dictionary of National Biography 1851 - 1880, Volume I, pp. 401-402. Back to text

Dennis, Clarence Michael James, (1876 - 1938). Born in Auburn, he worked in Adelaide in a solicitor's office and as a journalist. In 1906 he moved to Toolangi. His books include: Backblock Ballads and Other Verses; The Songs of the Sentimental Bloke (1915); The Australiaise: A Marching Song (1915); The Moods of Ginger Mick; and The Glugs of Gosh (1917).  Back to text

Dodgson, Joseph, born Ferrybridge, Yorkshire. He worked as a publican at Clare. He married Jane Wayling on 22 August 1840. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 412. Back to text

Dunn, James, born 1809. Came to South Australia in 1839 on the ship Somersetshire. He worked as a publican for most of his time in South Australia but he did work at Burra as a miner from 1846 to 1850. On 4 July 1846, he married Mrs Mary Cornwell nee Payne (1817 - 30 October 1883). The children from the marriage were James 91847 - 1908), Mary (1849 - ?), Robert Payne (1851 - 1933), Annie (? - 1854), John (1856 - 1901), and Alice (1859). He died at Balaklava on 28 August 1867. The hotels he was licencee of are listed below but the hotel he was most renowned for was the Wakefield Bridge commonly known as Jimmy Dunn's.

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1845

1846

Stone Hut Tavern

Section 2803

Saddleworth

Pt 3, p. 585, S-94

1850

1858

Wakefield Bridge

Gulf Road

Dunns

Pt 3, p. 578, W-04

1859

1865

Farmer's Rest

Main North Road

Salisbury

Pt 3, p. 199, F-10

1866

1866

Wheelright's Arms

Roper Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 677, W-51

Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide and from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume I, p. 439. Back to text

Go to top

       E

Eyre, Edward John Back to text

Go to top

       F

Ferguson, Peter, first appears in Stephens, J., (1846), South Australian Almanack and General Directory for 1846, Adelaide. He also appears in two further editions, in 1847 and 1848. He is described as a sheepfarmer living at Crystal Brook. Back to text

Finniss, Boyle Travis was born aboard the ship WARLEG in 1807. His religion was Church of England. In 1835 at Dublin, Ireland, he married his first wife, Ann Francis Rogerson (1819-1858). They came to South Australia in 1836 on the ship CYGNET. Upon arrival in South Australia he worked as a surveyor, became the Colonial Secretary with the salary of £850 per annum. After this, he entered Parliament and finally became Premier. He ended his career as Acting Governor. The children from the marriage were Fanny Lipson (1837 - 1865), Boyle Travers Nixon (1839 - 1853), Julia Howard (1840 - 1918), Wiliam Charles Maxwell (1842 - 1919), Emily Anne (1844 - 1929), Henry John (1845 - 1846), and Frederick Robe (1947 - 1908). After the death of his first wife, he married Sophia Florence Maus Lynch in 1878 at kensington. The child from this marriage was Corally Newton Maud (1884 -1990). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 339. Back to text

Go to top

       G

Gleeson, Edward Burton, born in 1803 at Clare, Ireland. He came to South Australia in 1838 on the ship EMERALD ISLE. His journey to Australia was prompted by his win of a substantial amount in the Calcutta Sweep. He bought his farm INCHIQUIN in 1840. He received 550 grape vine cuttings for £5 from the firm of Messrs Borradaille & Co., South Africa. He worked as a dairy farmer, agent and pastoralist. He was Church of England. He lived at Clare, a village laid out chiefly on land belonging to Mr Gleeson where he also became a Justice of the Peace and postmaster. He also lived at Beaumont and Magill. He married Harriet Llewelyn (1799 - 8 June 1896). The children from this marriage were John William (? - 1895), Fanny Eliza (? - 1913) Edward Burton (1838 - 1852), Sarah Ann (1841 - ?), a child (1837 - 1851), and, son (1843 - 1857). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 576. Back to text

Gors, Ja Carl Christoph, born 1821 at Bahl in Germany. He arrived in South Australia in 1846 on the ship GEORGE WASHINGTON. His first wife was Ja Christana Dorothea Zimmermann (? - 24 August 1860). The children from this marriage were Ja Carl Heinrich (1850 - 1851), Carl Whilhelm Ludwig (1851 - 1888), Ja Carl Christoph (1854 - ?), Ja Friedrich 91856 - 1873), and, Anna Christiana (1856 - 1901). During this time he lived in Adelaide and worked as a policeman. His grade at the time was as a Constable in the Metropolitan Police at a salary of £80 per annum. After his first wife died, he married Sophia Marie Chrisiana Henrietta Mundt (1839 - 6 September 1920). The children from this marriage were Theodora Christiana (1862 - 1920), Carl Heinrich Walter (1864 - 1936), Amanda Maria Caroline (1866 - ?), Hugo Arthur Heinrich (1868 - ?), twins Adelia Henrietta and Hugo Arthur Heinrich (1868 - ?), Adelia Henrietta (1870 - 1931), Alvina Sophia (1871 - 1872), Arthur Mundt (1873 - 1928), Otto Carl (1875 - 1927), and, Leo Emil (1880 - 1931). Gors then became a publican after leaving the Police.

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1858

1858

Duke of Brunswick Hotel

207 Gilbert Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 166, D-24

1859

1874

Aurora

182 Pirie Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 25, A-36

1874

1884

Morning Star

Main Road

Chain of Ponds

Pt 3, p. 382, M-55

He died in August 1885. Subsequent to his death, his wife Sophia continued to run the hotel till 1898. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 594 and Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide. Back to text

Gouger, Robert, born on 26 June 1802 at Lincoln. He came to South Australia in 1836 on the ship AFRICAINE. He was employed as a public servant. While in South Australia, he lived at Adelaide and Glenelg. His religion was Methodist. On 22 October 1835, he married his first wife, Harriet Jackson (1805 - 14 March 1837) in London. The child from this marriage was Henry Hindmarsh (1836 - 1837). On 18 October 1838, at Kenilworth, Warrickshire, he married his second wife, Sarah Whittem. The children from this marriage were Robert (1843 - 1856) and 2 others. He died in Kensington, London on 4 August 1846. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 596. Back to text

Green, a fencing contractor in the Clare Valley region.  Back to text

Gregory, George, a shepherd and hutkeeper who worked for John Jacob in the 1840's. He was accused of killing an Aboriginal woman on or about 6 February 1843. He shows up in no more official records.  Back to text

Grey, Edward. Governor of South Australia.  Back to text

Go to top

       H

Hailes, Nathaniel, (also known as Timothy Short), was born at London in 1802. He came to South Australia on the ship BUCKINGHAMSHIRE in 1839. He worked as a public servant, journalist, auctioneer and agent. He lived in Port Lincoln, Kensington Gardens, and Magill. He wrote Timothy Shorts Journal of Passing Events. He married Eliza Rutt (3 February 1816 - 17 January 1893). Prior to 1839 they had three children. In South Australia, their children were Elizabeth Sarah (1839 - 1926), Alice, Frederick (1841 - 1856), and two sons. He died in Adelaide on 24 July 1879. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 639. Back to text

Hale, Matthew Blagden, born 18 June 1811 at Alderly, Glocestershire, England. He married Sophia Clode in 1840. He had two children with her before she died in 1845. Following this he left England for South Australia, arriving in December 1847 on the ship Derwent. Went to Western Australia in late 1848 where he met his second wife, Sabina Dunlop Molloy at Busselton. They were married on 30 December 1848. After moving back to South Australia, he took up the position of Superintendant of the native mission at Poonindie. He then went to Perth as Bishop where he founded the Bishop's School in 1868 which was later known as Hale School, and then Brisbane, also as the Bishop. He died in England on 3 April 1895. Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume II, p. 644. Back to text

Hamilton, James. The manager of the English & Australian Copper Company.  Back to text

Hawker, George Charles, born 21 September 1818 in London. He came to South Australia in 1840 on the ship LYSANDER. In South Australia he worked as a pastrolist and politician. During this time he lived at Nuriootpa, Bungaree and North Clare. His religion was Church of England. On 16 December 1845 he married Elizabeth Seymour (3 September 1825 - 10 June 1901) in Adelaide. The children from the marriage were Elizabeth Joanna Naomi (1846 - ?), Alice Jane (1848 - 1930), Edward William (1850 - 1940), George Charles (1851 - 1889), Henry Colley (1852 - 1912), John Frederick (1854 - 1875), Eleanor Mary (1855 - 1939), Michael Seymour (1957 - 1933), Katherine Amy (1858 - ?), and her twin sister Mary Blanche (1858 - ?), Isabelle (1860 - 1860), Walter (1861 - 1951), Adelaide Rose (1863 - ?), Richard McDonnell (1865 - 1930), Trevor Wynne Eyre (1866 - 1887), and Bertrand Robert (1868 - 1952). he died at Medindie on 21 May 1895. Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume II, p. 698. Back to text

Hawkesworth, John. No record exists of John Hawkesworth outside the incidence of assisting in the murder investigation of John Mansforth at Skillogolee Creek. Back to text

Hawkins, Richard Dixon, born on 26 April 1819 in London. He arrived in South Australia in 1842 on the ship LADY FITZHERBERT. He was a well known publican whose hotel ownership career is detailed below. On 28 December 1841, he married Ann Civiall (? - 1851) in London. From this marriage they had twins, Kitty and James (1847 - ?) After the death of Ann, he married Mrs Christian Mosely nee McIntyre (1820 - 5 May 1861). The children from this marriage were Richard Dixon (1853 - ?), Christiana (1859 - 1859) and a step-child George Mosely (1864 - 1878). After the death of Christian, he married Mrs S., nee Rumble (? - 1877). He died on 18 April 1877 at Echunga. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol II, p. 699.

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1843

1846

Crafers Inn

Mount Barker Road

Crafers

Pt 3, p. 138, C-87

1848

1848

Sturt Arcade Hotel

106 Grenfell Street

Adelaide

Pt 3, p. 586, S-95

1849

1849

Nairn Arms Hotel

Main Road

Nairne

Pt 3, p. 395, N-01

1850

1853

Wellington Inn

West Wellington

Pt 3, p. 668, W-04

1854

1856

Crafers Inn

Mount Barker Road

Crafers

Pt 3, p. 138, C-87

1857

1857

Everly Hotel

Everly

Pt 3, p. 189, E-33

1858

1859

Bridge Hotel

Langhorn Creek

Pt 3, p. 66, B-71

1859

1859

Crown Hotel

22 Gawler St

Mount Barker

Pt 3, p. 33, B-06

1860

1863

Crafers Inn

Mount Barker Road

Crafers

Pt 3, p. 138, C-87

1863

1864

Crown Inn

South Road

Reynella

Pt 3, p. 146, C-102

1866

1866

Bridge Inn

Echunga

Pt 3, p. 65, B-70

1867

1875

Aldgate Pump Hotel

Strathalbyn Road

Aldgate

Pt 3, p. 4, A-08

1876

1877

Hagen Arms Hotel

Angus Road

Echunga

Pt 3, p. 271, H-02

Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide. Back to text

Hayden, Thomas, arrived by 1844. He was Roman Catholic by religion. On 30 April 1846 in Adelaide, he married Hannah or Hariot Tindale. The children from the marriage were Jane (1842 - 1845), and Mary Anne (1845 - ?). He was a squatter at Skillogolee Creek. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 701. Back to text

Henderson, James, was a merchant who lived in both Adelaide and then Brownhill Creek. On 7 June 1845 he married Anna Maria Clarissa Newman in Adelaide. The children from the marriage were Hamilton George (1846 - 1847) and Hamilton Gerald (1848 - ?). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 718. Back to text

Hill, Williamn John, arrived in South Australia on the HMS BUFFALO in 1836. He was a surveyor by trade and explored the Clare Valley region in 1838. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 741. Back to text

Hoiles, John. Apart from briefly appearing as the owner of the Port Henry Arms, there is no further record of John Hoiles in South Australia. There is a great amount of sentiment that Hoyleton was named after Hoile. In Parliament, they referred to the town as orriginally as Hoileston. However there is no record of him ever having held land in that area. Back to text

Hope, John, born 1808 in the town of Maghera, County Londonderry, Ireland. He came to South Australia in 1839 from Western Australia. He lived at Koolunga, Clare and Broughton. His religion was Methodist. In 1859 he married Isabella Matilda Kenny. The children from the marriage were Francis Diana (1860 - 1948), Charles H.S. (1861-1942) Robert Edward Herbert (1865 -1944), and Margaret Alicia (1865 - ?). He died in Adelaide on 20 January 1880. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 772. Back to text

Horrocks, Arthur Ainsworth, born in 1819 in the town of Preston, Lancashire, England. He married Ann Jacobs. The children from the marriage were Eardley (1850 - 1929), Arthur John (1852 - 1918), William Crawford (1856 - 1919), and Charles Jerimiah (1858 -1937). He died in 1872. Back to text

Horrocks, John Ainsworth, born 22 March 1818 in the town of Preston, Lancashire, England. He came to South Australia from England in 1839 on the ship called KATHERINE STEWART FORBES. Moved to Penwortham Village where he took up a farm of 1,000 acres known as HOPE FARM. His gardener, Edwin Green established the first of his vinyards. He went back to England in 1842 to raise further capital. He returned in 1844. He wanted to lead an expidtion north and to this effect, he purchased the only camel in South Australia. Died on 23 September 1846 as a result of an accidental self inflicted gunshot wound while on an expedition. Buried at Penwortham. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 777 and Adelaide Chronicle, 6 October 1932. Back to text

Hughes, Captain Sir Walter Watson, born on 22 August 1803 in Fifeshire, Scotland. He arrived in South Australia on the ship HERO. He lived at macclesfield, Watervale, Wallaroo and Walkerville. His occupations were sea captain, pastrolists and mine owner. His religion was Presbyterian. On 12 September 1841 in Adelaide, he married Sophia Richman (? - 31 May 1885). There was no issue from the marriage. Hughes left South Australia in 1873 and settled in England where he died at Chertsey in Surry on 1 January 1887. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 791. Back to text

Go to top

       I

Ide, Corporal William is acknowledged in Bennet, JF, (1842) The South Australian Almanack and General Directory for 1842, Robert Thomas & Co., Adelaide, p. 95, as part of a detachment of Royal Sappers and Miners under the command of Sergeant Forrest. Constituting the group included Corporals Ide, Moulton and Smith along with four privates who were attached to the Lands and Survey Office. The cost to the government for the year was £447 13s. 10d. (p.60) The detachment formed part of the 96th Regiment, "The Bendovers" who were stationed in Adelaide from 1841 to 1843. Wylly, (1923), Manchester Regiment, London. Back to text

Go to top

       J

Jacob, John, born 30 July 1816 at Bishops Sutton, Hampshire. He came to South Australia in 1838 on the ship WILLIAM from Van Dieman's Land. He worked as a pastarolist and a clerk. His farm was known as "Woodlands", Penwortham. On 19 August 1848, at Auburn, he married Mary Cowles (1820 - 14 May 1894). The children from the marriage were Sarah (1851 - 1939), Ann (1853 - 1911), William Frederick (1854 - 1934), John (1856 - 1926) Denis (1857 - 1863), Henry (1859 - 1916), Caroline (1861 - 1940), and Mary Eleanor (1866 - 1941). He died in 1910. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume II, p. 820. Back to text

Jones, John, A friend of Adams who lived in Penwortham.  Back to text

Go to top

       M

Mansforth, John, commonly known as the Sergeant, an Army Pensioner, was married to Ann (? - 12 February 1861). He died on 24 July 1850. Information extracted from the records of the Registrar of Births Deaths and Marriages. He was on the Army pension rolls and Joseph Clark, Barrack Sergeant for the 11th Regiment, stated that, under the direction of the Commissariat he occasionally paid the Mansforth. A pensioner of the name of Mansforth appeared at the Commissariat Office on the 3rd of April 1850 and received his last pension payment. Back to text

Mason, George. Back to text

McFarlane, Allan.  Back to text

Meyer, . Back to text

Moorhouse, Matthew, baptised 24 March 1813. His parents were James and Elizabeth Moorhouse. He was born at Huddlesfield, Yorkshire, England. His occupations were pastrolist, medical practitioner, civil servant and Member of Parliament. As Protector of Aborigines, he was paid an annual salary of £300. He came to South Australia from England on the ship SIR CHARLES FORBES. On 4 January 1842, he married Mary Ruth Kilner (born 29 August 1808, at Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England; died 30 April 1877, Melrose, South Australia) in Adelaide. They had three children, James (1844 - 1930); Washington (1847 - 1901); and, Emma Jane (1850 - 1895). Moorhouse died on 20 March 1876 at Melrose, South Australia. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1131. Back to text

Moreton, George Francis, born 1823 in Ireland. He came to South Australia on the ship TEMPLAR in 1845. Orriginally, he was a ship's surgeon but later became the towns surgeon at Penwortham and then later as Prison Surgeon at Nailsworth. He married Francis Hannah Gilles (? - 1919) at Gawler on 14 April 1849. The children from the marriage were Mary Jane (1850 - ?), and Edmond Montgomery (1860 - 1863). He died on 20 November 1861. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1131. Back to text

Mundy, Alfred Miller, was born in Shiply, Derbyshire. His religion was Church of Englan. He came to South Australia from New South Wales in 1839 to become the Colonial Secretary on a salary of £700 per annum. On 8 June 1841, in Adelaide, he married Jane Hindmarsh. The children from this marriage were a daughter (1842 - ?), Nellie (1843 - ?), Edward Grey Miller (1848 - 1849), and a son (1849 - ?). In 1849 he departed for the United Kingdom. He died at Nice, France in 1877. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1150 and Murray, A., (1848) The South Australian Almanack and Town and Country Directory for 1848, Murray, Adelaide, p. 22. Back to text

Murphy, Patrick, a sharecropper and former criminal who was released from gaol in 1847, cultivated a wheat crop covering some five acres let out for the sum of £25 per year.  Back to text

Murray, George, born in about 1812 in England. He arrived in South Australia from New South Wales on the ship THOMAS LOWRY in 1840. He married an Aboriginal woman on 14 May 1849. (Registrar of Births Deaths & Marriages, Certificate 0001/333.) They had 3 sons from the marriage. They selected, with the assistance of Thomas Adams, Section No. 3055 at Skillogolee Creek from the Goverment on the same basis as received by Adams. (Letter dated 18 July 1850, GRG 52/7/1, pp. 365 - 366.) He abandoned the land a few years later because of persecution by his neighbours. Letter dated 31 March 1853, GRG 35/4 (1853).The land was returned to the Government. He ended up in Beltana where he died sometime in 1884. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1156. Back to text

Go to top

       N

Norrell, William, born 1816 in Sussex. In 1843, he married Mary (1821 - 23 May 1861). The chilren from the marriage were Margaret (c. 1844 - ?), Charlotte (c. 1846 - ?), Elizabeth (c. 1848 - ?), and William (1850 - 1850). The family arrived in South Australia on the ship JOSEPH SOMES. His occupation was as a farmer, carpenter and wheelwright. The family lived in Burra and Auburn. He died on 20 September 1895. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1131. Back to text

Nolan, Mortimer, arrived in South Australia by 1841. He worked as a licencee at Clare and Hutt River. He was married to Susanne Scharfe. The children from the marriage were Anne (1841 - ?) and her twin sister Elleanor (1841 - 1848), Rosanna (1843 - ?), John (1845 - ?), Mortimer (1847 - ?), and Thomas (1850 - ?). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1192. Back to text

Go to top

       P

Protector of the Aborigines, the was a position created in 1836 to balance the needs of the settlers against the interests of the Aboriginal people. The task was defined in the "Instruction to Resident Commissioner" found in the Appendix attached to the Second Report of Commissioners on Colonisation of South Australia at Section 35 which stated.

35. You will furnish the Protector of the Aborigines with evidence of faithful fulfilment of the bargain or treaties which you may effect with the aborigines for the cession of lands, and you will take care that the aborigines are not disturbed in the enjoyment of the lands over which they may possess proprietary rights, and of which they are not disposed to make a voluntary transfer.

When colonisation commenced, it was determined that 10% of all proceeds from land sales would be placed into a fund to be used for the benefit of the Aboriginal people. Out of these funds came schools, rations and blankets. In adition it was also seen as good policy to set aside land for the Aboriginal people to farm. As generous as these concessions seem, the position was always one of resolving great conflict. In 1857 the position was abolished. The three Protectors of the Aborigines were:

    Captain Bromley, 1836 - 1838
    William Wyatt, 1838 - 1839
    Matthew Moorhouse, 1839 - 1857

Back to text

Go to top

       R

Rathoola, (? - 28 August 1858) . Married George Solomon on 6 February 1851 at Rapid Bay. (Marriage Registry, Volume 1, p. 336.) The children from this marriage were George (1850 - 1878), John William (1853 - 1946), Emanuel (1855 - 1922), and a child (1856 - 1856). She was granted Selection No. 1512 at Rapid Bay. After the death of Rathoola, the land was taken back by the government and the children were sent to Poonindie.  Back to text

Richardson, Oliver Keble, born 1800 at Todhillwood, Northumberlan. His religion was Church of England. On 8 October 1837 he married Annie Harris Scott (1814 - 1 June 1872) at Canonbie, Dumphrieshire in Scotland. They came to South Australia in 1839 on the ship FAIRFIELD. He carried on the profession of Clerk, Colonial Secretary and Magistrate. He lived in Adelaide and Streaky Bay. As Chief Clerk in the Colonial Secretaries office, his annual salary was £250 in the 1840's afterwhich it rose to £400. The children from the marriage were Eliza Scott (1839 - 1863), Gilbert Blair (1841 - 1907), Francis Annie (1842 - 1842), a daughter (1843 - 1843), a son (1844 - 1844), Annie Elder (1845 - ?), Louisa Jane (1848 - 1925), Charles Rankine (1849 - 1914), James Penney (1850 - 1851), Mary Rybol Melville (1852 - 1854), Oliver Crofton Peddie (1854 - 1883), Norman Alexander (1855 - 1941), and George Carter (1858 - 1860). He died at Streaky Bay on 20 December 1877. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1353 and Murray, A., (1848) The South Australian Almanack and Town and Country Directory for 1848, Murray, Adelaide, p. 22.  Back to text

Robe, Lieutenant Governor and then Governor of South Australia. Back to text

Robertson, John Alexander, born in 1813 at Edinburugh, Scotland. He came to South Australia in 1837 on the ship SARAH AND ELIZABETH. He worked as a farmer, builder and licencee. He lived in Salisbury, Kerkoonda, Undalya and Port Wakefield. He travelled back and forth to Scotland regularly. In 1845 at Dunbar, of East Lothian County, he marriedMargaret Moffat (1824 - 13 August 1891) The children from the marriage were Thomas Benjamine (1847 - 1897), Jane (1850 - 1904), Anna, and William (1856 - 1905). He died on 1 March 1893. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1368. Back to text

Robinson, William, born in1814 at Lancashire. He came to South Australia from Victoria in 1841. He was a pioneer pastrolist at Hill River Station. There is no record of his wife's name but he did have one son who died in infancy as well as five daughters. He died at Christchurch, New Zealand on 9 September 1889. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume III, p. 1372. Back to text

Go to top

       S

Schürmann, Claymore. German missionary. Back to text

Short, Augustus. The Anglican Bishop of Adelaide. Back to text

Skelton, William. Hutkeeper for Captain Hughes. Came to official note when on 18 June 1843 he killed an Aboriginal person for stealing sheep out of the fold. No charges were laid.  Back to text

Slater, William, born at Preston, Kent. Religion - Church of England. Married Caroline Cowles on 10 March 1839 in Adelaide. They had two children: Cath Ann (1840) and Leeuwin Alfred (1843). Information extracted from Statton, J., ed., (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society Inc., Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1497. Back to text

Smillie, William, born in about 1811. He came to South Australia in 1839 on the ship Indus. His position in the colony was Advocate General at £500 per annum. His religion was Presbeterian and Methodist. He lived at North Adelaide, Kensington and Mount Barker. On 9 April 1844, he married Eliza Jan Farquarson in North Adelaide. The children from the marriage were Jeane Nairne (1846 - ?), a daughter (1848 - ?) and a son (1850 - ?). He died in Paris, France in December 1852. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol. IV, p. 1500. Back to text

Smith, John, born on about 1807. On 24 September 1838, he married Ann Neilson (1820 - 18 November 1890) in Glasgow, Scotland. They travelled to Adelaide in 1839. At some time they went to Van Dieman's Land for some reason and came back to Adelaide in 1848. He worked as an Innkeeper at Smithfield for most of his life in South Australia. The children from the marriage were James Neilson (1839 - 1925), John (1841 - 1915), Alexander (1843 - 1903), Ann Alice (1845 - 1894), Margaret (1848 - 1915), William (1850 - 1912), Andrew Valance (1853 - 1932), Mary (1855 - 1855), Jesse (1856 - 1874), and, Marion (1859 - 1897). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol IV, p. 1506.  Back to text

Solomon, George, was a carter living at Talisker Mine, Rapid Bay and then he moved to Delamere. His religion was Roman Catholic. On 6 February 1851, he married his first wife Rathoola (? - 28 August 1858) at Rapid Bay. (Marriage Registry, Volume 1, p. 336.) The children from this marriage were George (1850 - 1878), John William (1853 - 1946), Emanuel (1855 - 1922), and a child (1856 - 1856). Solomon applied for a selection of land at Rapid Bay. He was granted Selection No. 1512. After the death of Rathoola, the land was taken back by the government and his children were sent to Poonindie. He then married his second wife, Catherine Burke at Willunga on 21 January 1859. The children from this marriage were Anne Matilda (1861 - ?), William George (1864 - 1925), and Kate Watson (1866 - 1934). Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol. IV, p. 1517. Back to text

Soper, George Henry. Police Sergeant with the Mounted Police with an annual salary of £98 5s.. Died 7 November 1861. His wife was Jane Newlands (? - 21 July 1878). The children from the marriage were Adelaide Victoria (? - 5 July 1860), John (? - 2 August 1872), and William (? - 4 January 1907). Information extracted from the records of the Registrar of Births Deaths and Marriages. Back to text

Stephen, George Milner, born 18 December 1812 at Wells, Sommerset. His occupation was solicitor, barrister, and politician. Stephen married Mary Hindmarsh in Adelaide on 7 July 1840. The children from the marriage were Harold Wilberforce Hindmarsh (1841 - 1889), Ernest Henry Hindmarsh (1842 - 1900), Alfred Farish Hindmarsh (1843 - 1928), Keith Raymond Hindmarsh (1844 - 1850), Florence Mary Hindmarsh (1846 -1916 ), Raymond John Hindmarsh (1847 - 1847), Edith Hindmarsh (1847 - 1847) George Shadforth Hindmarsh (1848 - 1890), Herbert Shadforth Hindmarsh (1851 - 1851), Lionel Viney Hindmarsh (1854 - 1922), and, Evelyn Alfred Hindmarsh (1861 - 1951). They lived in both Adelaide and Stirling. Stphen died in Brunswick, Victoria on 16 January 1894. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol. IV, p. 1542. Back to text

Strezlecki, Count Sir Paul Edmund de, born in 1797 near Poznan, in Prussian annexed Poland. Came to Australia in 1839 and travelled extensively in New South Wales and Van Dieman's Land. In 1840, he climbed and named Mount Kosciosko. He left Australia in 1843. In 1845, he published the work Physical Description of New South Wales and Van Dieman's Land. During the following period he mad various contributions to the debate about the nature of Australia. He died in 1873. Information extracted from Shaw, J., (ed.), (1984), The Collins Australian Encyclopaedia, Williams Collins Ltd, Sydney, p. 612. Back to text

Struve, Fred August. School master from Myponga who wanted to get a grant of land from Moorhouse after meeting with an Aboriginal woman. His request was declined.

I have no authority to marry any girl contrary to her wish. Two Europeans have married native girls, but in both instances, the girls expressed an attachment to their respective husbands. It is usual for the government to grant a section of land to the girl when married but the land is never intended to become the absolute property of the husband.

If you really wish to carry out your views, it will be necessary for you to gain the affections of a girl and when this is done bring her up to town and the affair will be settled.

 Back to text .

Go to top

       T

Taplin, George. He ran the mission at Point McLeay near the mouth of the Murray River.  Back to text

Tatum, Billy, a subcontracting shepherd who lived north of Auburn. Back to text

Teichelmann, German missionary. Back to text

Titcume, William, married, Registry of Marriages, Volume 57, p. 51. No further record of Titcume is found. Records show also the marriage of Eliza Hannah Titcumbe on 25 May 1854 (Volume 18, p. 210).  Back to text

Titcume, Eliza Hannah, married, Registry of Marriages, Volume 57, p. 51. No further record of Titcume is found. Records show also the marriage of William Titcumbe on 25 May 1854 (Volume 18, p. 210).  Back to text

Tobin, John, born 1818. He moved to Violet Hill, Kapunda where he eventually was the licencee of the Victoria Hotel, Burra Road, Kapunda from 10 June 1884 until his death. He was a Roman Catholic. During this time he married Mary Costello. His children were Michael (1856 - 1886), Ann (1850 - 1875), Maria (1850 - ?) and Margaret (1856 - 1886). He died on 3 March 1886. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1608 and Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 646, V-08.  Back to text

Tyulta, an Aboriginal man living in Yorke Peninsular whose wife was raped by Armstrong.  Back to text

Go to top

       W

Wakefield, Edward Gibbon. The intellectual driving force behind the founding notions underpinning the colony of South Australia.  Back to text

Walters, Gregory Seale, arrived in South Australia in 1848 and departed for England in June 1852. While in South Australia he was employed as a mine manager at Kooringa. Although the name of his wife is unknown, it is believed that she was of Spanish origin and came from Uraguay. He did have a daughter called Anna Manuella. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1668. Back to text

Warriner, Thomas, born in about 1810. He lived mainly around the Port Augusta region where he worked as a contractor. He died in Wilmington on 21 March 1887. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1677. Back to text

Webb, Charles Houlton, born 25 September 1818. He came to South Australia in 1848 on the ship HOOGLY. His religion was Church of England. He lived at Clare. His occupation was both surgeon and publican. The hotels he owned were On 28 May 1849 he married Elizabeth Meyler (1830 - 4 June 1916) at Burra. The children from the marriage were Cecil Houlton (1850 - 1897), Elizabeth (1851 - ?), Edith Evaline (1853 - 1928), Amelia Susan (1855 - ?), Florence Marian (1856 - ?), Edwin Alfred (1858 - ?), Augusta Lavinia (1861 - 1909), percival Richard (1862 - 1904), Maud Roberts (1864 - ?), Felix Earnest (1866 - ?), and, Adela Gertrude (1868 - ?). The Hotels he owned were as follows:

FROM

TO

HOTEL NAME

ADDRESS

LOCATION

REFERENCE

1853

1856

Clare Inn

244 Main North Road

Clare

Pt 3, p. 109, C-34

1864

1864

Clare Inn

244 Main North Road

Clare

Pt 3, p. 109, C-34

1864

1865

Commercial Hotel

302 Main North Road

Clare

Pt 3, p. 595, T-05

He died on 9 June 1870. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol IV, p. 1686 and Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide. Back to text

Williams, Thomas Harold, born 3 February 1790 at Terleath, Cornwall. He was Church of England by faith. On 14 October 1815, he married Honor Wallis (1794 - 7 November 1876) at St Just in Penwith, Cornwall. The children from the marriage were Honor (1815 - 1873), Grace (1816 - ?), Jennifer (1818 - ?), Eleanor (1822 - ?), William (1823 - 1852), Sally (1824 - 1916), Thomas (1825 1896), Anne (1826 - 30), Peter (1832 - 1914), and Zacharias (1834 - 1898). The family moved to South Australia in 1840 on the Java. In Australia he worked as a slate quarryman, miner and farmer. He also laid out the sites for the village of Skillogollee Creek and Auburn. He died at Willunga on 26 July 1858. Back to text

Williams, William, born on about 1800. He came to South in about 1836. He married Jane Catchlove (1815 - ?) on 2 July 1837 in Adelaide. The children from the marriage ere William (1838 - ?), Jane (1840 - ?), Mary (1841 - ?), Richardson Huey (1843 - 1886), Mary Laura (1845 - ?) and Frederick (1850 - ?). He died on 2 June 1854. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Vol IV, p. 1722. Back to text

Wyatt, William, Justice of the Peace. Born in May 1805 at Plymouth, Devonshire. He came to South Australia in 1837 on the ship JOHN RENWICK. His religion was Church of England. In South Australia he worked as a surgeon, Protector of the Aborigines and later became Inspector of Schools. Some time before arriving in South Australia, he married Julia (Julianna) Matthews (1808 - 14 March 1898). The children from the marriage were William (1838 - 1872), the twins Richard (1840 - 1840), and Julia (1840 - 1840), and finally Charles (1842 - 1849). He died in Adelaide on 10 June 1886. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1751. Back to text

Go to top

       Y

Yates, James, born in Lancaster, Lancashire about 1812. Sent to Van Dieman's Land in 1837 on the NEPTUNE. Died on 5 September 1850. His convict record reads: James Yates, convict number 127. Charged and tried for stealing wearing apparel in a dwelling house. Prosecutor Mr Deakin. Sentenced at Lancaster Quarter Sessions, 22 May 1837 to a Life sentence which was later commuted to 14 years imprisonment. Also given a further 7 days for being disorderly in June. Hulk name "James Ayr." Surgeons report - Good. Transported on the ship "Neptune". Arrived in Hobart on 19 January 1838. 19 February 1839, Clayton. Charged by his overseer with using abusive language to him and profane swearing - 12 months hard labour in chains, directed to Governor. 25 November 1839, Smith. Misconduct in disrespectfully demanding a pass to proceed to the Avoca Police Office a few hours after he had come to this service and to complain of his slops - three months hard labour in chains and to be returned to the service of the Crown, it appearing he was sufficiently well clad. 6 December 1839, Oats. Chain gang. Due for assignment vide Lieutenant Governor's decision . 23 April 1840 Tully. Neglectful of duty and insolence 48 hours cells solitary confinement. 6 January 1841 (Tully) Disregard of order and absent without leave - 48 hours cells. 22 February 1841. Tully. Striking and obstructing a constable in the execution of his duty, 14 days cells. 22 May 1841, Tully. Insolence and disobedience of orders, 30 lashes. 22 January 1842 Tully. Disobedience of orders and neglect of duty. 6 hours in the stocks. 1 March 1842, Tully. Disobedience of orders and abusive language. 6 months hard labour in the woods and returned to the service of the Government. 11 March 1842, Town surveyors gang, Hobart then for assignment to vide Lieutenant Governors decisions. 25 May 1842, Assaulting a fellow prisoner 3 months hard labour. 10 June 1842, Town surveyors being established vied Lieutenant Governor's decision. 30 August 1842, Town surveyors gang, disorderly conduct. Existing sentence of hard labour on the roads extended and extended one month and returned to his party. 3 September 1842, Transferred vide Lieutenant Governor's decision. 10 January 1843, Labour, orphan school. Absent from muster, 3 days solitary confinement. 22 May 1843, Dumaresque Institution, in secretly conveying tobacco into the lock-up. 6 weeks hard labour. 26 May 1843, Town surveying gang Launceston vide Lieutenant Governor's decision. 27 January 1844 Griffin. Drunk and insolence. One month hard labour. & report to Governor. 12 April 1844, 1 Class. 5 September 1844, 3 Class. 5 December 1844, Ticket of Leave. 17 July 1845, Drunk, fined 5 shillings. 1 October 1846, Drunk, fined 5 shillings. Back to text

Young, Gavin David, born on 5 January 1825. He came to South Australia in 1847 on the ship THERESSA. He lived at Port Wakefield and practiced as a surveyor. On 2 November 1861, he married Francis Richman (8 June 1831 - 12 August 1906). The children from this marriage were a daughter (1862 - ?), Edith Emily (1864 - 1864), and a son (1866 - ?). He died on 26 February 1881 at Pau, France where he was buried. Information extracted from Stratton, J., (ed.), (1986), Biographical Index of South Australians 1836 - 1885, SA Genealogy and Heraldry Society, Adelaide, Volume IV, p. 1755. Back to text

Young, Henry, Governor of South Australia.  Back to text

Go to top

Hotels

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

       C

City Bridge Hotel, located at 160 Hindley Street Adelaide. William Williams was the publican from 26 March 1846 to 12 January 1853. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Pt 3, p. 130, C-65. Back to text

Clare Inn, 244 Main Street, Clare. The owners were Dennis Kenny, 21 December 1848 - 15 August 1849, Mortimer Nolan 16 August 1849 - 18 June 1851, Alexander Campbell 19 June 1851 - 23 February 1853, Charles Houlton Webb 24 February 1853 - 2 April 1856. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Pt 3, p. 109, C-34. Back to text

Go to top

       D

Derby Arms, Penwortham. The owner before 1850 was Henry James Bleechmore, D. Stuart 1850 - 1851, Unknown 1852 - 1853, and C. Greenslade 1854 - 1858. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Pt 3, p. 160, D-07. Back to text

Go to top

       E

Emu Inn, Emuville. The licencees were Daniel Cudmore 1846 - 1847, Thomas P. Tapley 1855 - 1858, and J. Stanway 1855 - 1858. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 185, E-20. Back to text

Go to top

       G

Gilbert Arms, Gilbert River, Stockport. The owners were James Critchell 27 March 1845 - 7 December 1845, John Lamb 8 December 1845 - 14 October 1846, Henry James Bleechmore 15 October 1846 - 17 March 1847, William Coghill 18 March 1847 - 20 December 1848, George Pyke 21 December 1848 -19 June 1850, Robert Alfred Rogers 20 June 1850, William James Forrester 26 September 1850 - 21 September 1853, and T.H. Ayliffe 1854 - 1859. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Pt 3, p. 230, G-19. Back to text

Grand Junction Hotel - Hawkins' public-house appears to be possibly the Grand Junction Hotel at the intersection of Churchill and Cavan Roads at Dry Creek. This was the only hotel in existence that fits the description given in the evidence of John Hughes. During 1850, there were three different licencees, they being: Robert Sutton Schuyler; William Maxwell; and, John J. Morgan. It is the belief of the author that Hawkins was in partnership with William Maxwell or this person was his nominal licencee. The venture didn't work out and Hawkins went to Wellington. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Pt 3, p. 256, G-65. Back to text

Go to top

       M

Magpie and Stump, Burra Street, Mintaro. The licencee was M.B. Muir, 1850 - 1858. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 263, M-47. Back to text

Go to top

       N

Neptune was a 311 ton barque. Its master was Mr Thompson. The ship was used as a convict and general transport ship. It was recorded as leaving London under Master Norris on 1 June 1839 and arriving in Sydney on 27 September 1839. On board were 284 Government migrants, some of whom were sick, but no one ill enough to have the ship quaranteened. Information extracted from Australian Joint Copying Project at the Public Records Office in London, Reel 3214. On 5 April 1850 it is recorded as arriving at Hobart Town with 282 male prisoners. Back to text

North Star, located north of Gawler. it was founded and operated by William Templer and his well loved wife, Martha. William Templer was the licencee of the hotel from 1846 - 1859, afterwhich his wife Martha was the licencee until she died 27 August 1878. For a short period Templer changed the name in 1849 to South Star. This was changed again in 1840 to North Star. The hotel was described as one of the best places of accommodation in the colony and the reputation of Martha's generosity was legendary. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 413, N-32. Back to text

Go to top

       P

Port Henry Arms, located on Port Henry Road, Skillogollee Creek, was opened in 1850 and remained in the hands of John Hoiles until it closed in 1851. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 463, P-47. Back to text

Port Wakefield Arms, 23 Burra Street, Port Wakefield. The licencees were G. Green 1849, W. Lever 1851 - 1851, R. Martin 1852 - 1853, R. Fulcher 1854, and E. Fulcher 1854 - 1855. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 468, P-56. Back to text

Prince of Wales, Watervale. The licencees were Henry James Bleechnmore 1849 - 1851, H. Athorn 1851, and unknown licencee 1852 - 1855, and G.G. Stenthiel 1856. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 476, P-75. Back to text

Go to top

       Q

Queens Head, Kercoonda on the Wakefield. The licencees were J. Robertson 1850 - 1851, W. Baker 1852 - 1853, and W. Hayson 1854 - 1860. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 483, Q-04. Back to text

Go to top

       R

Rising Sun, Main North Road, Auburn. The licencee was James E. Bleechmore from 1851 - 10 December 1871. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 506, R-37. Back to text

Go to top

       S

Smith's Inn, was located on the east side of Main North Road, Smithfield. John Smith opened the hotel in 1847 and called it the Wheatsheaf until 1848. After that date, the hotel took the name of the proprietor and John Smith remained the licencee until 1860. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 557, S-43. Back to text

Sod Hut Inn, was located on Gum Creek. D. O'Leary was the licencee from 1850 - 1865. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 559, S-45. Back to text

Spring Inn, Black Springs. The one and only licencee was Daniel Cudmore in 1847. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 572, S-69. Back to text

Stanley Arms, Main Road, Watervale. The licencees were Henry James Bleechmore 1847 - 1848, C. Greenslade 1848 - 1853, D. Steward 1853, and A. Goldsmith 1854 - 1860. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 579, S-83. Back to text

Go to top

       T

Travellers Rest, Main Street Claire. The licencees were J. Ryan 1846 - 1847, J. Dodson 1848 - 1851, J. Day (Jr) 1851, J. Dodson 1852, T. Diprose 1853, and W. McKenzie 1854 - 1858. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 579, S-82. Back to text

Go to top

       V

Vicar of Wakefield, Port Wakefield. It operated for only one year under the licencee H. Treble in 1851. Information extracted from Hoad, JL (Bob), (1986), Hotels and Publicans in South Australia 1836 - 1984, Australian Hotels Association, Adelaide, Part 3, p. 644, V-05. Back to text

Back
Home
Forward

Go to top


Navigate our site

Number of visitors since 1 February 2002:

For comments, bick bats and bouquets
Contact the Webmaster

Best view:
IE5, Win95,
256 colours, 800x600
Java Enabled

Material

Section 346
Skillogolee Creek
The house that Thomas Adams built
Skillogolee Creek
The first letter of Thomas Adams from
Skillogolee Creek